Chippewa Herald Scholarship

Departments: Communication and Journalism Categories: Communication and Journalism | Spectator
Amount One award of $500.
Availability Available
Eligibility Criteria Available to a full-time, continuing student pursuing a career in print, online, radio, television, or other news media. All other criteria being met, preference should be given to those students who have a current relationship with a University news organization (i.e. WUEC, The Spectator, Inside Eau Claire, SRI, etc.) or professional media organization. Although there is no specific grade requirement, the recipient should show scholastic ability based on college transcripts as a measure of academic performance and ability to succeed.
Application Procedure Go to the Gold for Blugolds Scholarship Network. Complete the Communication and Journalism Scholarship Application.
Selection Procedure The Communication and Journalism Scholarship Committee will select the recipient.
Selection Deadline Early to mid-April.

The chair of the department will send notification to the recipient.

The winner is expected to attend the Communication and Journalism Student Excellence Recognition Reception held the last day of spring classes.

Special Notes The Chippewa Herald has been the daily news source for Chippewa County residents since 1870 - and has been the up-to-the-minute source since the 1990s. Through the years The Herald has continued to concentrate on what's going on in our communities. Since 2000, the paper's been a part of Lee Enterprises, one of the largest newspaper groups in the country, and in 2011 the newspaper group, which includes the La Crosse Tribune and Winona Daily News, was named Lee's Enterprise of the Year. The Herald is an ideal training ground for young journalists, providing opportunities to learn the craft and gain valuable experience in all facets of the profession.
Thank You A letter of gratitude addressed to Mr. Rusty Cunningham, Chippewa Herald, should be submitted directly to the department of communication and journalism program associate.