Karlgaard Computer Science Scholarship

Departments: Computer Science Categories: Computer Science | New Students | Wisconsin Residents - Specific Areas
Amount Fifteen awards of $5,000 each are available for a total of $75,000 in annual awards.
Availability Annually
Eligibility Criteria

This scholarship is open to individuals pursuing baccalaureate degrees at UW-Eau Claire in either computer science (ABET-accredited) or software engineering. Applicants, with the exception of re-entry students, must be enrolled in full-time study in order to be eligible for the award. Preference shall also be given to graduates of Rice Lake and Viroqua high schools, if qualified applicants are available from those areas.

Recipients must have a minimum unweighted high school GPA of 3.5 (on the 4.0 scale). All application materials must be submitted by February 1.

Sophomore, junior and senior scholarships: GPA 3.3/4.0 minimum (unweighted). Applications must be submitted by May 1.

Re-entry students: Eligibility is restricted to individuals who have been out of school for a minimum of two years prior to re-entry. No minimum GPA requirement for first year of re-entry.

Applications must be submitted by May 1. All Karlgaard scholars are expected to make satisfactory progress toward a degree in computer science or software engineering and maintain an overall GPA of 3.3 or better. They must also collaborate with a UW-Eau Claire computer science faculty member to produce at least one scholarly publication and/or formal presentation external to UW-Eau Claire in each of the junior and senior years, giving proper recognition to UW-Eau Claire and to the Karlgaard Computer Science Scholarship Foundation.

Application Procedure Incoming freshmen students who want to apply for the Karlgaard Computer Science Scholarship will find the application on the online Gold for Blugolds Scholarship Network.
Selection Procedure The Department of Computer Science Scholarship Committee will select the recipient.
Selection Deadline March for new freshmen; June for all other students.
Notification The recipient will receive official from the Chair of the Department of Computer Science. The Chair will complete and submit a Scholarship Award Form for each recipient to the Financial Aid office.
Special Notes

David and Marilyn Karlgaard have fond memories of UW-Eau Claire because they met here. David Karlgaard, a Rice Lake native, graduated from UW-Eau Claire in 1967 with degrees in math and physics. He was co-founder, CEO and president of PEC Solutions Inc., an internet technology-consulting firm headquartered in Fairfax, VA, which was acquired by Nortel Networks in 2005. Dave is retired, but continues to serve on boards of directors of several companies in the Washington area, and has been an adjunct professor at The George Washington University. Marilyn, a Viroqua native, attended UW-Eau Claire from 1965-1968. She is a retired human resource manager.

From 2002-2007, the Karlgaards served as the national campaign chairs of the UW-Eau Claire Foundation's Fulfilling the Promise of Excellence campaign. Their total outright and planned gifts of more than $5 million have been transformational. In addition to the Karlgaard Physics Scholarship, they established the Karlgaard Math Scholarship, which together were recognized as the first Centennial Campaign scholarships endowed at the $100,000 level in honor of UW-Eau Claire's Centennial.

Thank You Recipient should write a letter of thanks to David and Marilyn Karlgaard and deliver it to or send it in care of the UW-Eau Claire Foundation Office.